International Mobility Program


UMAP is the acronym for the “University Mobility in Asia and the Pacific”. Founded in 1991, it is a voluntary association of government and non-government representatives of the higher education (university) sector.

The general aim of UMAP is for each of the countries and territories in the Asia- Pacific region to achieve a better understanding of the cultural, economic and social systems of the other countries and territories in the region through enhanced cooperation among higher education institutions and increased mobility of university students and staff.

UMAP currently comprises 35 countries/territories with over 570 participating universities. Its membership is open to countries/territories in the Asia-Pacific region.
Member countries/territories can be represented by government higher education departments or ministries, individual universities, university umbrella organizations, or a combination of these. Individuals are not eligible for membership. (Source:


Association of Universities of Asia and the Pacific (AUAP) is an association of university chief executives from higher education institutions in Asia Pacific and around the world. Membership is to those individuals who serve as presidents, rectors or vice-chancellors at regionally accredited colleges or universities, privates sectors and international organizations.

AUAP was found and established by representatives of universities in the Asia and Pacific region assembled in conference at Suranaree University of Technology, Nakhorn Ratchasima, Thailand, on 28 July 1995 provide the means whereby the universities at the Asia and Pacific region as defined by UNESCO. (Source:


The ASEAN International Mobility for Students (AIMS) programme, formally known as M-I-T, aims to create a vibrant student mobility programme for citizens of all SEAMEO member countries. It has a long history, emerging from the Malaysia-Indonesia-Thailand (M-I-T) Student Mobility Pilot Project which was initiated in 2009 as collaboration between the governments of the three countries and SEAMEO RIHED. The M-I-T project was a pilot project. Following the success of the pilot project, it is now being turned into a fully-fledged ASEAN programme. Additional Southeast Asian nations are now invited to join the efforts of the three existing countries, and collectively develop a regional Southeast Asian student mobility programme. This section provides a background to the student mobility pilot project, including key partners, objective and key events.

ASEAN International Mobility for Students (AIMS) Programme has been at the core of SEAMEO RIHED’s educational programmes as indicated in our 4th Five-Year Development Plan to cultivate globalized human resources. To SEAMEO RIHED, student mobility has always been one of the key strategic elements of cooperation leading to the development of a harmonised higher education environment among countries in Southeast Asia. By 2015, it has been ambitiously agreed as a short-term goal among AIMS member countries that at least 500 students will be mobilised across the region, with expanding disciplines as well as membership. (source:

In the Philippines, twelve member Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) from the Philippines have been selected by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) formed Technical Working Group based on the following criteria: Centre of Excellence/Centre of Development, autonomous/deregulated, accreditation, and membership in international organizations. These are the Lyceum of the Philippines University- Batangas, University of the Philippines, Ateneo de Manila University, University of Santo Tomas Central Bicol State University of Agriculture, University of St. La Salle, De La Salle University, Saint Louis University, St. Paul University of the Philippines, University of Mindanao, Central Mindanao University and Central Luzon State University.

  • Binus University – Indonesia
  • Daegu Health College – Korea
  • Daffodil International University – Bangladesh
  • Danubias University – Romania
  • Fu Jen Catholic University – Taiwan
  • Gyeongju University – Korea
  • Henan University – China
  • Institute of Business Management – Pakistan
  • I-Shou University  – Taiwan
  • Jagran Lakecity University – India
  • Loei Rajabhat – Thailand
  • Muhammadiyah University of Semarang – Indonesia
  • National Chen Kung University – Taiwan
  • National University of Singapore – Singapore
  • Niigata University – Japan
  • Orkhon University – Mongolia
  • SIAM University – Thailand
  • SIAS International University – China
  • Sukhothai Thammathirat Open University – Thailand
  • Suncheon First College – Korea
  • Suranaree University of Technology – Thailand
  • Thai Nguyen University – Vietnam
  • Universitas Muhammadiyah Yogyakarta – Indonesia
  • Universiti Kebangsaan – Malaysia
  • University of Surubaya – Indonesia
  • University of Tehran – Iran
  • Valaya Alongkorn Rajabhat – Thailand